World Wide Cycling

                 Hong Kong Cycle Classic



Marco Polo Cycling Club

After the Tour of South China Sea, a UCI 2.5 stage race in Hong Kong, China and Macau (click here for a report) an event took place at Hong Kong Cycle Classic. This is a pro-criterium with some of the world’s best professionals at the start. Some World and Olympic Champions have been invited, among them David Millar, the current World Champion Time Trial. 


The Marco Polo Cycling Club raced with the following team:


Masahiko Mifune from Japan, Masa was the best Asian professional in Europe. He used to race for Colnago-Landbouwkrediet team. 

Chris Bradford, the current Australian national champion and Oceania Champion!

Wawan and Sama’I from Indonesia, the two strongest sprinters from Indonesia. They are riders from the Indonesian Wismilak team, next year this team will upgrade to the UCI Trade Team 3 status. Wismilak is a partner-team from Marco Polo Cycling.

Rob Conijn, a reliable domestic from the Netherlands.

Kenji, a strong rider from Hong Kong.


Apart from the Marco Polo Cycling Club team, some of the Marco Polo Cycling Team, trade team riders will raced together with the Sierra Nevada team from the USA.

Tim Wilson from Australia, Remko Kramer from the Netherlands and Felix Rohrbach from Germany and Chris Baumann and Troy White from the USA.


The Hong Kong Cycle Classic a 96 km Criterium - Central Wanchai District, Hong Kong



The start of the Hong Kong Cycle Classic 2004, with in the frontrow Olympic Champions: Scott McGrory and Brett Aitken and World Champions: David Millar, Bruno Risi and Franz Stocher. (Photo: Francis Cerny, Nikon Camera)


The race was in the center of Hong Kong, the start and finish were in front of the Expo Centre.


Photos, by Francis Cerny and Cor Vos:


Racing with the Hong Kong skyline as background.



The course went around the Expo Centre one of the famous landmarks of Hong Kong.


The peloton passing the high buildings of downtown Hong Kong, in the middle, David Millar.


Winner Masahiko Mifune in the jersey of the Marco Polo Cycling Club Hong Kong.


Masahiko Mifune winning the first Hong Kong Cycle Classic.


The Olympic and World Champions before the start of the race:


Click on the small pictures to see large photos.


Warming-up.         David Millar.          Franz Stocher.      Scott McGrory.


hktimprepare3.jpg (49868 bytes)



Tim Wilson.    Dragon dance.      The Champions at the start.


The race:


After the first lap.


Oceania Champion, Chris Bradford pulling the frontgroup.


David Millar missed the break.


Kam Po Wong (at the right) also missed the break


Scott McGrory in the frontgroup.


David Millar gave up.


Bruno Risi.


Franz Stocher pulling the peloton.


After the race:


masainterv3.jpg (32596 bytes)

Winner Masahiko Mifune giving an interview.


masacup3.jpg (33650 bytes)

Masahiko Mifune with the cup.


recepthk3.jpg (38471 bytes)

The reception after the race at the Dutch consulate general residence.






Home ] Up ]